Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Along with subscribing to Ipsy, we also subscribed to Birchbox. We fell for the free Beauty Blender and soap deal they had and were both surprised to get this month’s box. We did not expect it, but loved it ❤

First up Janet’s box

FullSizeRender-105

I used to love Emily from Cupcakes & Cashmere, (since 2008) like really love lolol. I even bought her Coach purse, met her in Bloomingdales for her first book signing, and bought almost her whole line from Club Monaco. That being said lately I have not been as interested in her blog as I was before, I mean I am not one to judge, but I don’t jump to read or buy her things as I once did. I was happy to get her box because like an old friend I don’t see often, it is always nice to stop and chat if I run into them, and reminisce 🙂

I did not know what to expect from Birchbox since I have never really been interested in it. I filled out my quiz and waited, I couldn’t find what I was getting this month like Ipsy so this box was a pleasant surprise.

FullSizeRender-106

1) Benefit Cosmetics Total Moisture Facial Cream (full size, $42)

The first thing I noticed was the cute packaging that Benefit always has and as soon as I opened it I love the smell. It smells like clean and flowers, I cannot wait to put this on today.

It claims “immediate & long term hydration” mmmm yes please! I have super dry skin so this sounds like heaven to give me that glow look I am always wanting. If this does give me that rest assured I will be buying the full version of this 🙂

FullSizeRender-110

2) Coastal Scents Revealed 3 Eyeshadow Quad (full size palette, $20)

As soon as I opened this I thought “omg how cute” I love little things and this is adorable

IMG_8848

Swatches did not turn out nice though, this was after really digging my fingers in it. I mean the top left purple color doesn’t even appear next to that red.

I watched left to right purple, red, brown, gold (sorry couldn’t find the names on the box)

I hope with a brush I am able to pick up more of the product. The gold looks really nice though and I know I will be using that one for sure 🙂

They do feel soft and satiny so I hope to get better colors appear on my lid than on my arm.

FullSizeRender-109

3) Harvey Prince Sea Salt Texturing Mist (full size, $22)

I was excited to get this since I love anything that gives my hair volume and this scent reminds me of summer and sweetness.

Another I will be using today lol

FullSizeRender-107

4) Jurlique Herbal Recovery Advanced Serum (full size, $56)

I have read great things about Jurlique but have never tried anything from them. I have not opened this one yet so I have no idea how it smells like but hopefully good.

This is a “botanical-based treatment that fights signs of aging with natural ingredients”

Sounds interesting, I am supposed to apply day and night, I will definitely use this up but not sure if I will notice a big difference since i feel with anti aging stuff it takes a bit to really see results. We shall though….

FullSizeRender-108

5) Macadamia Professional Nourishing Moisture Oil Treatment (full size, $40)

I was super excited to get this because I ran out of hair oil and cannot wait to put this in my hair and I hope it boosts my shine. I love the size of this 1 fl oz which I know will last me a long time since I will only need a little bit each time.

Overall, I loved this month’s box and cannot wait for next month. Thanks Josie for enabling me to sign up


After seeing last month Birchbox review from Jacqueline from A Vibrant Day, I told Janet that I wanted to sign up. I fell in love with the box hahahahaha There was a promotion going on for free Beauty Blender. Janet was sold lol and signed up with me yay!

Now, let’s look at Josie’s box!

Pretty cool to know that Emily from Cupcakes and Cashmere curated this box theme. Let’s take a closer look at each sample I received.

1)  amika Perk Up Dry Shampoo – 5.3 oz (full size, $21)

I do not own any Dry Shampoo but I have tried it once and was really surprised how it works. This will come in handy for sure.

2) Marcelle Clay Mask – 3.7 oz (full size, $15)

Oh yay! Clay mask! I’m a little discourage to use this or any face masks for a while. I had a bad reaction with Glamglow cleaner that I received from Ipsy and my skin is trying to recover 😦 It smells great though!

  3) Benefit The POREfessional – 22 ml / 0.75 US fl oz  (full size, $31)

I have a few samples of The POREfessional that I have yet to try. I don’t have large pores but I can probably use this as a primer and blend it with my skin

 4) Naobay Oxygenating Cream Moisturizer  – 50 ml / 1.7 fl oz  (full size, $36)

Moisturizer that has avocado. That’s interesting and I’m excited to use it! I love avocado!


5) Laura Geller Beauty Color Drenched Lip Gloss – 0.3 fl. oz (full size, $19)

Full price $19?! Wow! I’m not in love with this lip gloss. It’s sticky and doesn’t seem like it blends in well. But then again I’m not into lip gloss. Maybe Janet wants this hahaha

Overall, I’m not that impress with this month Birchbox. Only excited to use 2 out of 5 samples.

While Janet loved her box, sadly Josie did not 😦 We will hold on for a couple of months but I think it is safe to save Ipsy won for the better box this month for both us.

Hope you guys have an amazing weekend ❤

xoxox

Janet & Josie

