Tags

, , , ,

I really don’t like seafood (I know! what is wrong with me?) but occasionally I get cravings for mussels. I was shopping at a popular Korean store and they had 2lbs of fresh mussels for $1.98. I decided to make some for dinner. Here’s a quick delicious recipe I found online: Thai Red Curry Mussels

-2 lbs of mussels
-1/2 yellow onions, sliced thinly
-1 bell pepper, sliced thinly
-1 inch ginger, minced
-2 tablespoons red curry paste
-1 tablespoon of sugar
-1 tablespoon of fish sauce
-1 can of coconut milk
-1/2 cup of chicken broth
-1 lime, cut to wedges
-1 ciabatta loaf, thinly sliced and toasted (optional)

Clean and de-beard all live mussels.

IMG_0760.JPG

Coat a large skillet with olive oil on medium high heat. Add the onions and bell peppers until the onions are translucent. Add ginger and garlic. Then add red curry paste, sugar and fish sauce. Mix the red curry paste to the vegetables. Add entire can of coconut milk and chicken broth. Let it simmered and let it cook until it reduced and thicken.

FullSizeRender

IMG_0758.JPG

IMG_0759.JPG

Toss in the mussel. Cook and cover for about 4-5 minutes. Shake and stir the mussels around the skillet. Transport to a large bowl. Add wedges in lime. Served with ciabatta bread. Enjoy!

IMG_0761.JPG

-Josie

