Tags

, , , ,

Chicago style hot dog: all beef hot dog on a poppy seed bun, mustard, chopped white onions, green relish, dill pickle spear, tomato slices, pickled sport peppers and a dash of celery salt. NO KETCHUP! I repeat. No ketchup

Hot Doug’s, a widely popular hot dog spot in Chicago, officially closed their doors on October 3, 2014. It became popular and a tourist go to spot to get a real Chicago style hot dog. But Hot Doug’s is no ordinary hot dog joint. It served specialty and new spin on hot dogs. Foie Gras on duck sausage, alligator, lamb sausage? Um heck yes! Saw this banner and I would have to agree:
The fries are good, the sausages great, but our friend Doug is why we wait!
Doug Sohn was the owner of Hot Doug’s and he was the guy who took your order. Super friendly guy. I went to Hot Doug’s for the first time when they just first opened back in 2001. It was located 1 block away from my high school and my friends and I would go there for either lunch or a place to hangout after school. It wasn’t popular back then but I loved their hot dogs. When I decided to become a vegetarian, I was there to get my fries and vegan dog (wasย vegetarian for 9 months). Doug knew me by first name (only because he asked as he’s taking your order lol) but I was a regular customer. After graduating high school I would go back when I could. He still recognized my face but when it started to get popping I was just another customer. That’s okay I still enjoyed the food haha

Doug announced in May that he will be closing for business in October. Oh no! I have to go back before he closes! We decided to visit Hot Doug’s at the end of May and we waited for 2 hours. Yes, 2 hours. But it was so worth the wait.

IMG_0302.JPG
Photo credit: E.O.

IMG_0303.JPG
Photo credit: C.M.

We tried again two weeks before they closed but had to leave the line because it was a much longer wait. Luckily one of my good friend Elaine went and she waited for 5 hours! I was so sad that I wouldn’t be able to make it out there again so she brought me a Fire Dog. It was a day old but it was my last hot dog from Hot Doug’s ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

IMG_0169.JPG

-Josie

