Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

DAY Routine

IMG_0161

Every since I was a little girl I have been washing and moisturizing my face. My mom would not let me go to bed unless I washed my face and she would make sure I had my Ponds cream on it. I did not understand the importance of this routine, brushing my teeth and washing my face, until years later. Needless to say I owe my mom a big “THANK YOU” for making this routine second nature to me.

I like to shower in the mornings so I wash my face in there. I use, at the moment, Estee Lauder Perfectly Clean because I received it part of a gift with purchase. I typically use Cetaphil, but this is a good product just too expensive ($25 yikes). After the shower I apply lotion everywhere and on my face I start off with

-Kiehl’s Powerful Wrinkle Reducing Eye Cream ($42), it’s my husband’s but I love stealing it. I can feel it instantly work around my eye area, like it tightens seconds after it is applied. It’s crazy! I laugh and smile a lot so in my early 20’s I noticed I was beginning to get wrinkles and crows feet. I needed to fix that fast and while I am very partial to Estée Lauder, I can’t help but to admit, I think I may love this product more for my eyes. I have read you don’t necessarily need eye cream, which I can see it being true and only needing a face serum, but I have noticed my wrinkles greatly reduce. If you have the funds yes to eye cream, if not you don’t need it.

-Next I apply my favorite serum of all time, mainly because after trying out 5 others this was the only one I didn’t break out all over my face, Estée Lauder Advanced Night Repair Synchronized Recovery Complex II. I have been using this this product for about 6 years, it’s just so good. I get the 2.5 oz bottle because I share with my husband, he is equally obsessed with face products as me. This bottle applied twice a day on both of us lasts us 3 months and it is pricey $120 I think it is definitely worth it! My neck wrinkles have drastically reduced and my face head lines also almost gone. I love love love this product so much. I always try to encourage my friends to purchase it because I believe this product works wonders.

-After I let the serums dry a bit I combine my Ponds and Kiehl’s Powerful Wrinkle Reducing Cream with SPF 30. I don’t really care too much for the Kiehl’s product, but since my husband bought it (hated it) and it cost $69, I wasn’t about to let it go to waste so I will use it until it is done then go back to my Neutrogena face Ultra Sheer Dry Touch sunscreen.

-I then I apply my makeup and coat my lips with my favorite lip balm Jack Black Intense Therapy SPF 25 ($7.50) , I love all the flavors, but currently using Lemon mmmmm, smells so good

NIGHT Routine

IMG_0157

After I take off my makeup with a makeup remover wipe, I wash my face with

-St Ives Apricot Scrub ($3.99), I love this and have been using this for ages. I like using it at night to scrub off the remaining makeup I may have left behind and any dirt I built up from the day

-I then apply Estée Lauder Advanced Night Repair Eye Serum Synchronized Complex II ($65.00), I used to apply the other eye gel that Estée Lauder makes, but I decided to give this one a try. I like that with a simple pump I get the perfect amount of serum for both of my eyes so I don’t put too much or waste. The gel pot is nice, but sometimes I feel I apply too much and  go through a pot faster than this I noticed.

-On goes my favorite serum, Estée Lauder Advanced Night Repair Synchronized Recovery Complex II

-I then exfoliate my lips with E.L.F lip exfoliator ($3), this product is great and once I apply I take it off with a wet cotton ball and apply my Fresh Sugar Advanced Therapy Lip Treatment that I received for free from a Sephora sample thing they offered online. Once I run out of this I don’t think I will shell out the $25 for a big tube, but instead go back to my favorite Cherry Chapstick brand.

-The final thing to go on my face is Ponds, this reminds me a lot of my mom so I don’t think I will ever change moisturizers and it’s such a great price, around $6-$7.

-I just bought this Pantene Pro-V Overnight Miracle Repair Serum for my hair. It is severely damaged from my love of a curling iron so I hope this helps, but if not I will be visiting a salon to get some professional help. I need a trim anyways so I hope to get a deep conditioning or something to make this frizz go down.

-I forgot to take a picture of my coconut oil, but I apply nightly on my hands and I have noticed my hands to be less dry and my fingernail beds stronger. I wash my hands a lot throughout the day so my nails flake and my hands need constant lotion, but with my coconut oil they have gotten way better.

I have had this same routine for years, minus the addition of the same product in another brand. If I had to give my future daughter or anyone advice is to always wash your face at night and in the morning no matter how tired you are, moisturize, drink lots of water, and wear SUNSCREEN! Ugh the one regret I have is not knowing how important sunscreen is, so now sunscreen always and at least SPF 30. I cringe thinking of myself as a little kid in the sun for hours with no sunscreen, the sun spots on my face show it all. I have a 7 year old son and apply sunscreen and ponds cream on him every day. The importance of skin care goes for both boys and girls.

Some of these products I admit are very pricey and being a frugal person a lot of times I hate shelling out for my serums, but I do notice a big difference in my skin and wrinkles have reduced a lot. I turn 30 next month (AHHHH!) so I definitely pay extra attention to anything on my face. Ah vanity, gets the better of me. When I first used my serums I sacrificed clothes and going out in general in order to be able to afford them, now I am fortunate I can afford them, but I know the struggle so I would say you don’t really need them if you are in your early /mid 20s. Late 20s and early 30s on the other hand I say look for a face anti wrinkle serum that suits your skin and budget. There are tons of options, I just happened to be allergic to a lot of them and by default have to keep buying Estee Lauder.

If you have some great products you highly recommend, let me know 🙂

Janet

