Tags

, , , , , ,

One of my favorite soup I like to get at a Thai restaurant is Tom Yum Soup. A nice spicy and sour combination soup that really clears up my sinus lol. If I make my own batch of chicken broth (Put the leftover bones and skin from a chicken carcass into a large stock pot and cover with cold water) I like to make some Tom Yum soup on a cold day. Here’s my version of Tom Yum soup.

Ingredients:
-1/2 tbsp of granulated sugar
-1/8 tsp of salt
-2 tbsp of lemon juice
-1 tbsp of fish sauce
-1/2 tbsp of chili paste with soya bean oil
-2-4 lime leaves kaffir
-lemongrass stalk (cut 2 inches long)
-straw mushroom
-tomatoes cut up
-2 cups of chicken broth (not stored bought) or water
-sliced chicken or shrimp
-chopped cilantro

IMG_0223-0.JPG

IMG_0209.JPG
You can buy chili paste with soya bean oil at your nearest Asian market. Tom Yum paste might work too (I haven’t tried it though)

IMG_0224.JPG
Combine sugar, salt, lemon juice, fish sauce chili oil paste, and chicken broth in a medium pot on high heat. Add lime kaffir and lemongrass to broth. Let it come to a boil and then reduce heat to low. I like to simmer my broth for about 5 mins to release all the lime kafir and lemongrass flavors. After a few minutes, add mushroom, tomatoes and your type of meat. Bring the heat to medium high until meat is fully cook. Adjust flavor by taste. Serve it a nice big bowl and top it off with some chopped cilantro. Enjoy!

IMG_0220.JPG
-Josie

